Saturday, December 29, 2007

Indian Hindu Nationalist Captures Power In Himachal Pradesh

Shimla, India (December 28, 2007): Prem Kumar Dhumal-led Himachal Pradesh Bhartiya Janta Party is all set to form next government after gaining simple majority. BJP secured 35 seats out of 59 in 68-seated state legislature.
Dhumal, Virbhadra Win
Incumbent Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh won the Rohru seat with 15,000 margin, while Dhumal defeated Congress candidate with margin of 26,000 votes in Bamsan assembly seat.
Countdown Began
Looking in upbeat mood, Bhartiya Janta Party’s spokesperson Sushma Swaraj said Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh verdicts showed that countdown started for Congress and UPA. BJP-led alliance NDA would form next government at Union level. “The victory is not limited to Himachal and Gujarat. It is a trailer of Lok Sabha elections," Swaraj told media persons in New Delhi.
No Linkage
Refusing any link between Gujarat and HP election verdicts, senior Congress leader Anand Sharma said that there was no communal polarization in the Himachal Pradesh which was witnessed in the Gujarat.

Labels: , , ,

Sunday, December 23, 2007

Gujarat In Modi ‘Mood’

Varodara, Gujarat (December 23, 2007) – Indian Hindu Nationalist Party Bhartiya Janta Party gets decisive majority Sunday in Gujarat Assembly election.

According to media reports, BJP has won 103 seats, clear cut majority in 182 seated State Assembly and leading in 13 constituencies. While Congress has won 53 seats and is leading in 8 constituencies.

Turning Point

Bhartiya Janta Party senior leader and Prime Ministerial candidate of party, L.K. Advani hailed the impressive victory saying that people’s verdict in Gujarat become ‘turning point’ for national politics.

Party’s national general secretary Arun Jaitely says that it is a rare election where a party gets verdict on ‘development and good governance’.

Congress Concedes Defeat

The Congress Party, lead opposition in Gujarat, concedes defeat. “It is a great victory for him, it is a remarkable victory,” Congress Spokesman was quoted as saying.

Sworn-In On 27

Narendra Modi, who is credited for BJP’s impressive show in western Indian state, will be sworn-in as Chief Minister for a third term on December 27, 2007.